XC-season has started - but not for me! - Reisverslag uit Eindhoven, Nederland van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu XC-season has started - but not for me! - Reisverslag uit Eindhoven, Nederland van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

XC-season has started - but not for me!

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

16 September 2015 | Nederland, Eindhoven

Now that the track season is over, it's time to gear up for a new season. I am really happy with how my track season went, because for the first time since running for Portland I significantly lowered my 1500 & 3km PB's, as well as improving in the 5km. I ran 4:22.47 in the 1500m (was 4:32.97), 9:16.39 in the 3000m (was 9:39.00), and 16:06.07 in the 5000m (16:32.42). I also was able to run my best races on the end of the season instead of being in great shape early, and burned out when it matters, and had an awesome experience running in Crete where I made my senior debut in orange.

Of course, the highlight was qualifying for the European Championships. Unfortunately I was not able to 'put the icing on the cake' in Tallinn, which was heartbreaking. Some people wondered if I was too tired and if the season had been too long, but I don't think that that's what it was. I was really excited for this race, and really wanted to fight for a top-8 position. After watching all the other Dutch athletes doing so well, I couldn't wait to stand on that starting-line myself. Unfortunately, I had to get acupuncture twice before the race, in my hip and in my calve, because my body started to stop cooperating (the explanation for the nice orange tape on my leg). But that didn't bother me in the race. I just went out too fast, because I so badly wanted to run with all these other speedy ladies, and I had to pay for it later. A good lesson!
Through this link you can find a little impression of the last workout Jip (who ended up winning the 10k!!!) and I did before our races:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-sDZ3tJgRY
And here is an interview after my race (Sorry English speaking people, it's in Dutch!):
http://losseveter.nl/2015/07/12/anne-luijten-ik-probeerde-het-wel-maar-er-gebeurde-gewoon-niks/

I was really lucky to go on vacation with my family 2 days after Tallinn, which helped me to put the bad race behind me. We flew into Vancouver, Canada, where we bought tents and camping gear and rented a car, and had an amazing month in the Canadian National Parks, Yellowstone, The Grand Tetons, Portland, Olympic National Park, and Vancouver Island. It was perfect timing, since I didn't have to worry about running (Some people didn't believe me when I said I would take a 2-week break, but I really didn't do a single run ;) ). We did awesome hikes, saw a lot of wildlife and the most gorgeous nature, enjoyed beautiful weather and explored a lot.

Coming back in Portland, I was months behind my teammates in terms of training: their season had ended in May, and they had been running high mileage all of summer. This wasn't a big deal because I am redshirting this season (= not running for the team), just like I redshirted the track season, so that I can run XC next year. It is quite sad to redshirt yet another season, but I really want to be able to run next year because that's when I should be at my best. It means that my teammates are flying out to Spokane for the first varsity-race of the season this Friday, and I am staying in Portland. It also means that my teammates are kicking my butt in workouts right now, because I am only doing one workout a week to work on my base first, and am not quite in shape yet. But... I have something to look forward to because I am probably going to do two local non-varsity races, unattached, on October 3 & October 23. I might also do a 10km road race, but I really have to look into that first.

So although I won't have any super interesting stories to tell in the next months, because I am not racing a lot and basically just putting miles in to create a strong base for the indoor & outdoor season, I will keep you up-to-date about other things that happen!

  • 16 September 2015 - 22:24

    Anja:

    Hi Anne, I have never heard the expression before, 'put the icing on the cake'! Interesting! Talking about our fabulous vacation, keep an eye on your mailbox. I think it is time that your blog 'Waarbenjij.nu' is renamed in 'Kiekeboe waar ben ik?'. Fingers crossed for oma.

  • 17 September 2015 - 17:43

    Tante Els:

    hi!
    As you're not racing much maybe you can tell us about the rest of your life.. study? Klaas and I are very interested when you know what you're gonna do next summer... staying over? Coming home? And if so from when to when?
    If you find the time....
    lots of love
    Els

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 600
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80194

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: