A quick update - Reisverslag uit Portland, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu A quick update - Reisverslag uit Portland, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

A quick update

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

09 November 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Portland

I haven't written a blog post for a while, and that is because I don't have many interesting stories to tell you. As I wrote in my last blog, I have to 'sit out' this cross country season so that I can run for UP next year. Luckily, this doesn't mean I can't train with my team or can't race at all. I am still allowed to enter races, I just can't run them in the white & purple of my school. Although it is sad to see my teammates getting in better and better shape as they are gearing up for Regionals this weekend & to see them racing against the best of the country while I am just logging miles and getting ready for indoors, I really enjoyed the two smaller XC-races I participated in.
2 weeks ago, I raced the Beaver Classic, a small 6km race. I drove up with some of the freshmen guys, who are also redshirting, so that was a lot of fun. The only unfortunate thing was that because of traffic, we arrived a mere 30 min before the race, which meant I had to do an 'emergency-warm-up' in order to end up on the starting line at least somewhat ready to go... I am happy I always do a short 20min shake-out in the morning before my races, because that meant I was at least a little ready! I was determined to win it, but I may have started out a little too enthusiastically and had to settle for second.
Yesterday I got 6th at another 6km-race in Pier Park, in a field with a few very fast women. Pier Park is a park only 2,5 miles away from UP, so it was a 'home meet.' It almost felt like I was racing in The Netherlands, since I went there by bike (instead of plane/car), it was rainy & cold (instead of 30 degrees C), the course was tough with mud and hills (instead of the flat golf courses we usually run on here), and I ran in the jersey of my Dutch club team. Nick came over to watch which was great because it felt a little lonely out there, and during the race I noticed that some of my teammates had come as well! The race itself was average. Since I was sick the week before, I didn't expect much and just wanted to go out there and be tough, and that's what I did. Because of the aftereffects of the cold, my breathing was off and I was breathing hard right from the beginning. I am sure that next time, without these breathing issues, I can do much better.
In 2 weeks I am doing one more XC-race in Fernhill Park, another local park where we often go for workouts. The plan is to really get a good, fast race in there and to beat some of the women that beat me today!

But first it is time to cheer on my team in Seattle!

  • 09 November 2015 - 17:10

    Anja:

    Hi Anne, good to hear your race went well and always good to have pilot Nick and some of your teammates around. Have a nice day Anne. I have to make some tests in one and a half hour. X mam

  • 12 December 2015 - 16:37

    Opa En Oma Van Veen:

    Beste Anne,

    Het duurde even, maar hier nu toch eindelijk een berichtje van opa en oma.
    We vinden het leuk dat je volgende week zaterdag weer op Schiphol landt.
    Oma komt je afhalen met je mams en dan gaan we gezellig door naar je zus haar nieuwe stekkie.

    Goede vlucht en tot volgende week.

    XXXjes opa en oma

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 635
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80230

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: