2 Regional Qualifiers in the pocket - Reisverslag uit Palo Alto, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu 2 Regional Qualifiers in the pocket - Reisverslag uit Palo Alto, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

2 Regional Qualifiers in the pocket

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

01 Mei 2017 | Verenigde Staten, Palo Alto

In my last blog, in which I wrote about my 1500m seasons-opener in Stanford, I voiced the hope that I would get in better and better shape each week. That seems to be exactly what is happening! Two weeks ago, I qualified for Regionals in the 1500m in 4.23, 2 seconds above my PR. On Friday, I qualified for Regionals in the 5000m, 4 seconds above my PR. Both were great racing-experiences and a lot of fun!

The 1500m in Azusa (California) was fun because I was one of the slowest girls in the second fastest heat. I always like that, because it basically assures a fast time if you can just hang on. The race went out fast - I was the last one at the 400m point and still ran a 68. I was able to hang on in the second lap before falling off in the third lap, but just like in Stanford I was able to get some girls back on the last 100m. My teammates also ran well, especially Taryn who was in my heat and almost won it! I was happy to get the regional qualifier and to see the progress compared to two weeks before, when I only managed to run a 4:29. However, I also felt like I raced a bit like a coward, letting the girls in front of me go, just like I did in Stanford. Although in Stanford I felt like I just couldn't handle the pace, here I think I could have stayed with them if I had been a little tougher. Therefore, my goal for my next 1500m will be to race aggressively, go with the leaders, and set myself up for a sub 4:20 because it is time for a PR! If I can improve by 6 seconds over 2 weeks, I surely can improve by another 6 seconds over 4 more weeks right...? ;)

The 5000m at Oregon State University on Friday was even more fun. Because it was a local race, almost the entire team came out to either race or cheer. In addition, the entire varsity was in the race, which made it feel just like cross country! During the track-season it doesn't happen too often that you are all in the same race, and it was really special to run side-by-side with Anna, Parkes, Taryn, and Lauren, just like in practice! I went into this race fairly confident, because I felt good and have been training well. On the other hand, it was also a bit scary because I hadn't raced a good 5km in a while. We were extremely lucky with good weather and two pacers, Taryn and Lauren. Lauren took it out from the gun, running about 77s. Taryn was right next to me. Again, just like in practice! I felt strong and confident, and through 2 miles (in about 10:20) it felt very easy. At that point Lauren and Taryn dropped out, and since I had been sitting on Lauren, all of a sudden I was leading and well, that suddenly felt a lot harder! Therefore I decided to move to lane 2, to see if someone would take over, and sure enough, Erin Clark from Colorado took the lead. I tucked in behind her and just tried to follow. This went fairly well. With one lap to go I saw the clock was already at 15 minutes. At that point I realized that we had lost a lot of time and that a sub-16 wasn't gonna happen anymore. Nevertheless, I still wanted to beat as many girls as I could! I was able to outkick the other girls and finished second (one girl had taken off around halfway). Although it wasn't the sub-16 I was hoping for, it was a very fun race and it gives me confidence in my 5km-abilities again! I would love to have another shot at breaking 16, but that won't happen in the States. Who knows, maybe I can find some male rabbits to pace me in a 5km in the Netherlands....

The 5000m always completely wrecks my body. After a slow jog on Saturday and a long run on the bike/elliptical on Sunday to avoid the pounding, I am still sore today. Hopefully an icebath and massage can fix that! This week is an exciting week, with my parents coming tomorrow and graduation this weekend. I am very glad I have another month or so in Portland before I have to leave, and I am enjoying everything even more than normal. My next race will be a 1500m at the Portland Twilight in 2 weeks. This is where I ran my PR last year. I am very excited to see what I can do! We have also started heat-training for Regionals, and this week it will finally get warm and sunny in Portland so that will help with that (and make my parents happy ;) ) !

  • 02 Mei 2017 - 07:14

    Ingrid Le Comte:

    Hey Anne. Super leuk om te lezen dat je zo goed in vorm bent en zo goed hebt gelopen. Ook het plezier dat je er nog steeds in hebt.
    geniet van je laatste tijd daar. Veel plezier met je ouders en met het behalen van je diploma!

    Liefs Ingrid

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 603
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80197

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: