Pilots 22nd at Nationals - Reisverslag uit Spencer, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Pilots 22nd at Nationals - Reisverslag uit Spencer, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Pilots 22nd at Nationals

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

20 November 2016 | Verenigde Staten, Spencer

The 2016 XC-season is over, and with that, my last XC-season as a Pilot has come to an end. No better way to end it than with a solid performance at Nationals. Of course I can’t be completely satisfied with finishing 111th (83rd if you get rid of the individual qualifiers), but I did what I could, I had so much fun out there, and I am so proud of my team. We finished 22th as a team, which probably would have been quite a bit better if we had been on full strength. Parkes is a standard top-5 contributor, but unfortunately had an important mandatory scholarship interview at the same day that Nationals took place. That ended up hurting us quite a bit: the only issue we had as a team all season was that we didn't quite have a strong enough 6th runner - our #5 now was over a minute back from #4. But finishing 22nd with an incomplete team is nothing to be ashamed of!

Last week at Regionals I had my worst race of the season, finishing 45th and only 5th for the team. Luckily my teammates Anna (28th) and Taryn (25th – last All-Region) stepped up big time and it was still more than enough to qualify for Nationals: we got 5th in the region and the top-6 teams ended up qualifying, because the numbers 3-6 had enough points from earlier meets. The guys had by far the best race of their season, finishing 2nd to automatically qualify for Nationals, which meant both teams would go on to Terre Haute.

With only 1 week in between there was not much I could do to turn things around, but Ian let me do whatever I felt like I wanted to do on Tuesday (which was 10x200 on/off in 37 sec/under 60 sec), which made me feel fresh, strong, and excited. We traveled to Terre Haute all day Wednesday, went to the banquet on Thursday which was a really fun experience, and raced Saturday morning. Although Thursday and Friday had been warm and sunny (tanktop-weather), on race-day it was extremely cold and windy: if you don't believe me, just look at the difference between the pre-race and post-race videos I posted at the bottom! We got out of our warm clothes the very last minute before the race started, but some of us were still frozen during it. It was incredible to run in this field, and unlike anything I have ever done before. I have ran in some pretty big races in the past but this was something else! I was passed a lot on the uphills, but was able to pass other girls on the downhills. Contrary to the last few races where I tended to kind of give up, I felt like I was engaged the entire time. Ian had told us the night before that it makes no sense to decide during the race if you are doing bad or well, but that there was only one thing that mattered: beating people in the second half. I tried my hardest to do just that, and am happy with the race I ran. Anna and Taryn also ran well and came in right behind me, while Lauren finished another incredible season with her third All-American performance. Mathilde, Courtney, and Grace finished it up for us.

I just want to thank everyone for the support we have received all season! From our teammates at UP who really made us feel like we were running not just for ourselves, but for the rest of the team back in Portland as well; all the former Lady Pilots who sent us encouraging messages; the athletic department, fellow students, and faculty at UP; the men’s team and RC who have been extremely supportive of the women doing so well (and finished 13th!!); and of course my friends and family at home.

Preliminary plans for Indoors have already been made (it has something to do with qualifying multiple girls for Nationals - I'll keep you updated!). But first it is time for at least a week off. It will be nice to celebrate the unique season we have had and feel like a normal person for a bit!

Pre-race video women: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-QODB_pJ7Ds
Pre-race video men: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nH_L3ricTQ
Post-race video women: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KP1RjbfpMGw
Post-race video men: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kORwNogJQlE

  • 20 November 2016 - 20:21

    Anja:

    Hi Anne,

    Nice interviews on the video Anne. Enjoy your thanksgiving! While I am writing this there is a firework show at the old cityhall. Haha. We made a nice long walk with Max at the Delftse Hout today. And guess what, the trimloop at AV 40 just began. I had to think of you at the beginning of your running career. There was no rowing because of a storm. Say hello to Nick and his parents.
    X mam

  • 21 November 2016 - 19:24

    Tante Els:

    we actually got that, that you're team finished as 22nd. I know for certain you never wrote that many up comments in the years before. Good for you: saving the best for last.
    Can't wait to see you with christmas. If you keep you're spirits up like this you might even NOT get sick these coming holidays!!!

    els

  • 21 November 2016 - 21:50

    Sonja:

    Hi Lady Pilot,

    Nice for the records that your name is registered as one of the athletes who ran the Nationals 2016 for Portland University, regardless the results. You can't have it all, my dear. Your team managed to join the finals. That's all that matters. Well done. It's nice to read that you yourself are pleased with your OWN race. I will watch your pre- and post-race video's later this week.
    Enjoy your precious time with Nick in hopefully tanktop-weather.

    TTFN

    XXX Sonja

  • 03 December 2016 - 08:46

    Maaike Notenbomer:

    Sounds good Annie! En zoals je zei, bij die nationals aanwezig zijn was al een fantastische prestatie! Ik zal je missen met kerst mop <3 xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 617
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80217

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: