Ending the indoorseason on a high - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Ending the indoorseason on a high - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Ending the indoorseason on a high

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

02 Maart 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Seattle

Unfortunately, yesterday was the last time racing at the Dempsey Indoor Track up in Seattle. I was 8th in the 3000m heat with 9:22.07, 10 seconds faster than a month ago and exactly what I hoped for. On the Friday before I had a very good workout, one of my best workouts ever (3x1000m in 3km goal pace with 3’ in between + 4x400 in mile goal pace with only 1’ in between), which gave me the confidence my goal of breaking the school record (9:25) and running a low 9:20 was possible. I did get quite nervous, but during my warm-up in the sunshine on the nice trails around the water, I realized that that was stupid: I knew I was in shape, I knew I was once again in a very good, fast heat, and in the end racing is only the reward for all the hard work and a great opportunity to see what you have on that particular day.
I am especially happy with the time because it gives me confidence I can also run a 5000m sub-16.10, the standard for the European <23 Championships. Tomorrow, I will make plans with my coach to see where and when I am going to do a first attempt to hit the standard. Right now, it seems like I may fly out to the first Stanford meet at April 3. I am redshirting this season so that makes it a little more complicated to get myself there, but I am sure we can figure something out. For now, I will take an easy week and then probably gear up for a very, very fast 5km!

  • 02 Maart 2015 - 07:05

    Anja Luijten:

    Goed gedaan Anne, we hebben weer van je genoten! Take it easy for this week. Nagenieten is ook fijn. Daarna lekker springpbreak en vervolgens maak je je weer op voor de 5 km. Trots op jou! Dikke knuffen, mams

  • 09 Maart 2015 - 19:57

    Tante Els:

    wowie, je gaat echt als een speer. Klaas had dit weekend een halve marathon gelopen in 1.40. Was tie ook blij mee. maar net als bij jouw race: lekker weer. Geniet van je mijlpaal!
    els

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 559
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80214

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: