Seasonsopener & PR - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Seasonsopener & PR - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Seasonsopener & PR

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

02 Februari 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Seattle

Running in Seattle is always quite the experience.There is no other track that makes me as confused as this one, because the track has the very inconvenient length of 307 meters. This means that when you have to run a 3000m, you run 9 3/4th lap, through a crowd of people on both the inner and outer lane, usually with around 25 girls that are just as fast or faster than you are, while you are trying to make sense of where the hack you are, how far you have left, and how much more girls you can possibly beat. But it has one advantage: racing in Seattle is never boring, and the race is over before you know it.

Just like always when I run here, I ended up in a very good heat. The girls got out fast and I got pushed to the back. My coach had told me to be patient in the first half because we weren't sure about my fitness, and therefore I wasn’t too worried and just tried to maintain contact. During the race, I was able to pass girls almost every lap, and got from dead last (about 20th) to 8th. I felt strong, and it was fun and very encouraging to be able to close gaps and hop from one group of girls to the next. When my teammates told me afterwards that I had run a PR, I was super relieved. 9:32.27 is a time I wanted to run long ago, but better late than never, and I am especially happy with it considering I have only done 4 workouts/3,5 weeks of training after the hip injury. More to come! I run the mile in two weeks (For some reason Americans like to run miles during the indoorseason instead of the 1500m) to work on the speed, and I will end my indoor season two weeks later with another 3000m.

  • 09 Februari 2015 - 19:49

    Tante Els:

    hi!
    eh eh.... pr na 4 weken niet al te veel doen....
    En wat leer je daar nu van?????
    Gefeliciteerd! klinkt helemaal goed. Lekker doorgaan zo.
    groet,
    Els

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 414
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80193

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: