Bill Dellinger Invitational - Reisverslag uit Eugene, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Bill Dellinger Invitational - Reisverslag uit Eugene, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Bill Dellinger Invitational

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

08 September 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Eugene

I have been back in the States for almost a month now, and I am completely back into the rhythm of school, homework, running, eating, sleeping, and -when I am lucky- some social stuff in between. Training did not go completely as planned: I was excited to get back early, so I would have one last week of just focusing on running, spending time with the team, and enjoying the Oregonian sun. Unfortunately, I got sick on teamcamp and stayed sick for almost a week, caused by a stomach virus. I had a fever the first day, and after that I felt ok, but whenever I tried to run my stomach blew up like a balloon, and I would have cramps for hours afterwards. Not being able to run was a frustrating experience, but I could also put it into perspective: I knew I was in very good shape after all the good summer training, and I also knew that some extra rest was probably even good for me. And indeed, I came back with a 4 mile tempo that went faster than ever, which showed me what I already thought: I am in pretty good shape already and way ahead of where I was last year.

Last Friday, we had our first race, in Eugene. It was bloody hot, and I decided to only do a short warm-up (there wasnt much to WARM-UP because only walking in the sun for a few minutes made you sweat) and throw a lot of cold water over me to make my body temperature lower. It worked, and the race went well. I started a little slower than I normally do, which was nice because in the second mile I could run from one group to another, passing a lot of girls, and I ended up 4th (I had no idea that I had caught that much runners and thought I was 10th or so, until Ian told me 15 minutes after the finish...). As a team, we did great too. We beat Oregon, one of the top teams in the nation, who did not run their top runners, but probably hadnt expected to be beaten by us.

I have a month of training left before my next race, which will be a 6k up in Seattle. That' gonna be an important one, because we have to beat as many teams as possible to have a shot at Nationals later in the season.

  • 09 September 2014 - 20:07

    Oma Luijten:

    Hoy Anne, wat een mooie prestaties, en wat grappig dat je het eerst niet eens in de gaten had. we mogen toch wel een beetje trots zijn. ga zo door. Ben wel een beetje laat met schrijven maar we zijn weer een paar dagen weg geweest. ik mag toch wel in het nederlands schrijven want ik vind het al erg genoeg als ik een brief naar Eric moet schrijven, maar ik heb wel begrepen dat je ook nog ziek ben geweest maar dat die rust je toch wel weer goed heeft gedaan. het allerbeste en liefs van ons beidjes. oma

  • 12 September 2014 - 01:28

    Monica Van Loon:

    Hi Anne,
    I love that you are now writing in English for the second half of your course! I can now read your blogs for myself and fully understand without having to get Erik to translate!! Although it was good for me learning some Dutch!!!
    Wow, well done on coming 4th-congratulations, that's so great!
    Hope you have a fantastic semester in all that you do and sounds like you're loving Portland!
    Lots of love,
    Monica and Erik xx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 670
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80184

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: