Race-time! - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Race-time! - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Race-time!

Door: Anne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

13 Februari 2017 | Verenigde Staten, Seattle

In the Netherlands I was never a great fan of the indoor-season. With the cross country-season and the indoor-season coinciding, I usually chose for cross country. Also, with my long legs, the tiny 200m banked track in Apeldoorn was not ideal. But in the United States the indoor-season happens after the cross country-season, and we have some amazing meets with crazy good competition at the University of Washington in Seattle, a 3-hr drive from Portland, on a flat 307 meter track. I missed the first two meets, but yesterday I got to race the 3rd one!

I ran a mile, and it wasn’t anything impressive at all (4:53), but it was good to see where I stand and to get out there again! I am still not close to being in shape, but in two weeks from now, with four more workouts in my legs, a fresh body (I trained through this meet, and was quite sore and tight), and a race under my belt, I think I can do much better. Although my teammates are killing it, running PR’s and even school-records left and right, I know my own indoor-season won’t be anything special; it is all about preparing for Outdoors. But that’s okay! It means that I can have a lot of fun and just enjoy racing, without any pressure or expectations. Over the break I was afraid I would have to miss the entire indoor-season, so now that I get to race after all, I am just trying to enjoy it to the fullest!

I am slowly but surely getting back in shape, and it is really cool to see the progression over the past three weeks. My first workout was 5x800m from 2:46 to 2:40 with 3 minutes rest, joining the freshmen-group (one of the few moments so far I have felt ‘old’!). The next workout was 16x200m in’s & out’s (meaning we ran 16 faster 200s in 39 seconds, followed by a 200m ‘rest’ (decent jog-pace) under a minute); since this went well and my hip was completely fine, I got to do a 5km-tempo + 6x200m in 1500m-pace in the second week; 12x400 from 78sec down to 72sec; and a hard 15 miler. Last Tuesday it was really great to see the improvement compared to 2 weeks earlier, as I did 6x1000m in 3:20 – both more volume and at a faster pace than the 800s. Hopefully the progress continues, and I am back at my old level in no time.

As of now, I am not sure yet if I will run the mile or the 3000m in two weeks. Although I really love the 3km, I know I am not in shape to attack my personal best, and since I haven’t ran anything this indoor-season I will be in slow heats in both events, so as of now I am leaning towards the mile. I may also run a 1200m in the Distance Medley Relay the day before, an event only popular in the US. It consists of a team of 4 girls running a relay consisting of 1200m, 400m, 800m, and 1600m. If this is actually happening, we are trying to break the school-record. All the more reason to stay healthy & get in better shape (in that order) !!

  • 13 Februari 2017 - 15:58

    Anja:

    Toppertje!
    X mams

  • 13 Februari 2017 - 20:07

    Tante Els:

    helemaal lekker dat je weer loopt toch?! Geniet!
    els

  • 13 Februari 2017 - 22:22

    Femke:

    Wat beschrijf je het toch mooi!
    Lekker bezig An, en vooral heel erg genieten van de dingen die je doet!!

  • 13 Februari 2017 - 22:42

    Sonja:

    Hi Anne,

    Great to read that you and your hip are best friends again. The Medley Relay sounds fun to me, because you can then perform as a team. The most important is that you are up and running, no matter what the results are.

    Enjoy!

  • 14 Februari 2017 - 18:36

    Oma Luijten:

    hoy Anne, zo te lezen heb je het weer best naar je zin. geniet er van.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 556
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80078

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: