Not what I wanted, but I learned my lesson! - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Not what I wanted, but I learned my lesson! - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Not what I wanted, but I learned my lesson!

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

31 Januari 2016 | Verenigde Staten, Seattle

2 weeks after my win in the mile I was back in Seattle yesterday for the 3000 meters. This may be my favorite event, and after putting in a lot of work over the last months I was very excited to see what I could do. I felt like I was in PR-shape and wanted to get as close to 9:10 as possible (running a time around 9:10 or just under is probably good enough to make it into NCAA’s indoor nationals). Therefore the plan was to start out with 400 meters in 74s (9:15 pace) for the first 2km and end with a fast last kilometer. I felt very good in the warm-up and thought this was going to be my day. But unfortunately I forgot one simple thing:

How To Run a Good Race Rule 1: Don't Lead If You Don’t Have To.

2 weeks ago I had a terrible start and had to work myself up from behind to put myself in contention for a fast time, wasting valuable energy. So this time I was not going to have a bad start. I was going to be aggressive and find a good position. Well, maybe a little too aggressive… I had a very good start, so good that I ended up in the lead. Which is not a good idea if you are running in the strongest heat of the day and if you have to run 3 long kilometers. So there I was, in the lead, a perfect rabbit for the rest of the field. I probably should have stepped to lane 2 and let someone else do the work, but I didn’t. I was on pace for the first 400m but fell slightly off after that. Just before the mile someone else finally took over and I tried to go with her. At 2000meters I heard 6:16, where I had hoped to be around 6:10. It was hard to know that the time was slipping away, and it was tough to get passed by a couple more girls. I did not have the power to go with them, and ended up 6th. To finish in 9:24 is not bad, but I had set my mind on running at least a PR and to contend for the win again. And I think I could have achieved both, if I had just slowed down a little bit 80 meters into the race, when I was about to be the first one in the turn, so that I could have been the one chasing people instead of being chased.

But… The season is young and if you learn from your mistakes they can serve as valuable lessons for the future! I may not have gotten the outcome I wanted today, but I’ll get another chance soon enough. I just found out (read: persuaded coach) that I will likely be racing the mile in the House of Track (WC Indoors track) in Portland this coming Friday. I can’t wait to run there, hopefully this time with some smarter tactics…

  • 31 Januari 2016 - 22:32

    Anja:

    Hi Anne,

    Well we saw your race and yes it was a fast race and you did very well. It is not always easy to remind yourself of smart tactics once your start position is is going well. Plan is one thing, act another. Don't be too hard on yourself. Next Friday or another weekend you get new chances. A PR is in the air. Have a nice week pilot!

    X mam

  • 31 Januari 2016 - 23:02

    Sonja:

    Hi Anne 'Luutje'

    Your start looked good, but as you found out yourself, upfront was not the best position for such a long race. The good thing is that they now all know who Anne Luutjes is, talking about PR.
    It all seems so simple in theory. I really was impressed by your race and it's great that you are fit and in shape.
    Anne, don't forget you're an apricorn and not a rabbit.
    Next week running in The house of track: sounds good. Take some time to recover and be proud of your achievements. Remember: your biggest fan is watching you.

    XXXXX Sonja

  • 01 Februari 2016 - 10:35

    Opa Luijten ( Luutjes):

    Ha Anne, nu, dat is toch helemaal niet slecht. Ik begrijp dat je 6e bent geworden, je kan toch niet altijd winnen ?
    Voortaan maar geen "rabbit"meer lopen, dan komt het best in orde. Groetjes Oma en OPA

  • 09 Februari 2016 - 19:35

    Tante Els:

    you win some...
    Las ik nou dat er binnenkort een groot toernooi is in Portland (maart). Dat is gaaf voor jullie!
    Misschien wil Daphne nog wel met je uit eten...
    els

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 469
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80079

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: