2nd goal accomplished - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu 2nd goal accomplished - Reisverslag uit Seattle, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

2nd goal accomplished

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

16 Februari 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Seattle

Yesterday I ran my second indoor race, this time a mile (=1609 meters, for some reason Americans run miles instead of 1500 meters indoors). This was mainly meant as speed development for the 3000m in two weeks, but I also wanted to run faster than my 1500m PB on the way (4:32). The race was absolutely crazy. There is no way I would ever end up in this type of race in The Netherlands. Until the last lap, the ENTIRE field was within 1-2 sec of each other, and the race was one big mess. I am pretty sure I made a bunch of tactical mistakes and was all over the place:

Start: oops, just like two weeks ago, Anne gets pushed to position very last. This is NOT gonna happen again.

400m in: someone screams ''seventy-two!'' and Anne is still in the back. I know girls tend to slow down in a 1500m after the first 400m, and this was already not very fast. I better get myself up to the front!

200m later; Anne has passed the 14 girls in front of her by running A LOT of extra meters and tries to keep up the pace. It was pretty painful already, but apparently we were still not going very fast, because the 800m went in 2:27.

600 meters & 2 laps to go: I get passed and am not aggressive enough. Girls are still running 3-4 wide. I can't finish my stride. Everyone tries to get to the front. I try to kick, but the other girls are kicking harder.

Last straightaway: 5 girls all fight for the win. I have to come from behind but am able to close hard and almost, almost win the heat, and finish in 4:51.16 (equals a +- 4.30 1500m). I have never won a heat in the USA and although in the Netherlands I never really cared about winning, now I can't wait to cross that finish line first. Maybe in two weeks?

Overall, it was a super fun race and a good tune-up for in two weeks. I feel like I can go much faster with this race under my belt + in a more organized race, but unfortunately I won't race the mile anymore this indoor season. Hopefully I will be able to show it in the 1500 during the outdoor season!

Race: http://www.flotrack.org/coverage/251961-Husky-Classic-2015/video/760693-Womens-Mile-H02#.VOEyXPldWPM

  • 16 Februari 2015 - 06:55

    Anja:

    Het was inderdaad een wisselende race, maar we hebben ervan genoten. Luten noemt de verslaggever jou altijd. 'Don't count Luten out'. Het is dat ze het maar weten.
    Fijne week lieverd!

    Mam

  • 16 Februari 2015 - 11:38

    Opa Luijten:

    Gefeliciteerd !! Het gaa6t steeds beter hè ? Fijn hoor. Groetjes Oma en OPA

  • 17 Februari 2015 - 19:55

    Tante Els:

    hi!
    Ik heb nog nooit zo'n ludiek wedstrijdverslag gelezen... je had vast plezier. He, klopt het dat ik moet betalen om de video te kunnen zien? Wil ik natuurlijk best doen maar effe checken!
    groet,
    Els

  • 18 Februari 2015 - 21:37

    Sonja:

    Hi Anne,

    The way you describe your race is really spectacular. It must have been quite a mess with the limited space. It made you all very agressive, although kicking each other cost a lot of energy and is a waste of precious time I would say. Every second counts. You are very eager to win.
    That's the right mindset.It reminds me of a song: YOU CAN DO IT and you know that you can: there is nothing to it......
    (Just kidding).

    XXX from your proud aunt.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 383
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80077

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: