Conference & Regionals mark the end of the season - Reisverslag uit Portland, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu Conference & Regionals mark the end of the season - Reisverslag uit Portland, Verenigde Staten van Anne Luijten - WaarBenJij.nu

Conference & Regionals mark the end of the season

Door: Anne Luijten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

17 November 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Portland

I was able to end my cross-country season with two great races, both in California. My conference-race of two weeks ago made me very happy, not only because I achieved my goal of finishing in the top-10 (I was 8th, last year 21st), but mostly because this was the very first time that I was able to bounce back from feeling tired. I have to admit that taking three days off in the middle of the season is a little unconventional, but I am sure that if I would have kept training, I would not have ran as well as I did. After the days off, my legs all of a sudden felt good again, and I had a series of good workouts that gave me confidence going into this race. During the race, my legs felt so strong, and racing was so fun! I had told my teammates that I was going to go out aggressively and then just hang on for dear life and fight for a top-10 position, and that is what I did. We went out very, very fast (5.13 for the first mile) but I did not really feel it. I was able to pass a couple girls on the end, which was really motivating. As a team, we finished second. We had hoped to finally get the Conference-title but faced a very strong BYU.

Last weekend I had a completely different race, as I stood on the line with 250 other girls. I had prepared for a fast start, because you do not want to have to pass 100 girls in your race. I was a little scared, because I had been sick over the weekend and had spent all Monday in bed. Yes, being sick 4 days before the most important race of the season, great timing! I did not get too worried about it though, and was just hoping that I would feel better on time. Luckily, I did. Just like in the Conference-race, I felt strong and could move up during the race, finishing 34rd (Which I have to admit, does not sound too impressive, but it was a great improvement compared to last year). Unfortunately, we did not make it to Nationals as a team, which means my season is over. It is unbelievably hard to make it to Nationals, but we really believed we could make it this year, and it is sad that once again, we did not qualify. Maybe I just have to get good enough to make it as an individual next year…

I am taking a week off, which I am not very excited about at all. Although it is nice to not have to worry about sleep and recovery and running for a bit, after 3 days of doing nothing at all, I already cannot wait to go out for a run again. It is beautiful weather in Portland at the moment: cold, but dry and sunny. The best way to enjoy that is with a run! Oh well, it gives me some time to reflect, and make a plan for the track season. I want to run a very fast 3000m indoors, which is an intermediate goal towards a great 5000m outdoors. The big goal is to qualify for the European Championships <23 that takes place this summer. Exciting things are ahead of me!

A recap of the Regionals-race here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJj2B1Z5mgM&feature=youtu.be

  • 17 November 2014 - 23:18

    Anja:

    Enjoy your extra hours not running Anne! Reading Brooks is nice too! I can imagine you miss running. Believe it or not A&O will join the City Pier City run in 2015 for the 15th time, and now for the real last time. Another 4 weeks to go and you will be here. Looking forward to it.
    Have a nice day. X mam

  • 18 November 2014 - 18:35

    B.j.luijten:

    Lieverd, alles gelezen en ben blij dat je zo tevreden bent. Ga zo door. Het is fijn dat je weer even thuis komt en dan kunnen we nog meer horen. tot gauw, liefs, oma.

  • 19 November 2014 - 17:45

    Tante Els:

    Hi kanjer!

    Je leert nog wel doseren gedurende het jaar! jammer van de nationals.
    Hebben afgelopen weekend het nieuwe huis gezien: mooi hoor! Superkeuken. helemaal leuk. Nog op zoek geweest naar een lamp maar je moeder had al haar eigen idee!
    Oja en met Fem besloten: dit jaar winkelen in Batavia stad. En dan ws avonds eten voor de gezelligheid.

    groet,
    Els

  • 23 November 2014 - 14:11

    Sonja:

    Hi Anne,

    Just returned from Dubai. You can register for the Dubai run taking place half December along the Marina Dubai. 10 km's. Just An idea. The place to be if you take the weather into account.
    You're making progress my dear niece. That's the most important thing. I am very impressed about you're achievements mentally and physically.

    Looking forward to seeing you soon.

    Enjoy,
    Sonja

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

On this blog, I try to write regularly about my adventures in Portland, USA!

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 1192
Totaal aantal bezoekers 80075

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Augustus 2012 - 30 November -0001

Portland, Oregon, USA!

Landen bezocht: